Musical Monday … Come Pick Me Up

I like to think of myself as a happy-go-lucky, glass is half-full kinda person.  I usually don’t ever allow myself to dwell in a state of meh-ness.  Some might say that’s the control freak in me, while others would say it’s just me burying my feelings.

Meh, is what I say to that.

But, sometimes the angst that hides beneath the surface can’t be pushed away and I … well, … I have a moment.

This weekend I found myself like that.  I was in a really pissy mood and mad at the universe in general.

Meh.

Then a day like today comes along and it puts my moans and groans about my life in to perspective.  Today is a sad and somber reminder of how quickly everything in your life can change.  It makes me want to give myself a kick up the arse and question what right do I have to feel selfish and moody when compared to the real losses and tragedies of 9/11.

Ten years ago I heard Ryan Adams for the first time … his song New York, New York got quite a lot of airplay and rightly so.  I thought he had a great albeit moody sound and bought his CD which I played over and over.  I’d not really listened to him much since then, but when I was over at my sister’s house the other day, she was playing some of his more recent songs.

For this week’s Musical Monday, I’ve chosen this one called Come Pick Me Up that I was a bit smitten with … I think because it’s such a moody fucking song and so appeals to that angst side of me.  Look … there I go again.

Meh.

Enjoy while I go give myself a good talking to …

When they call your name
Will you walk right up
With a smile on your face
Or will you cower in fear
In your favorite sweater
With an old love letter

I wish you would
I wish you would
Come pick me up
Take me out
Fuck me up
Steal my records
Screw all my friends
They’re all full of shit
With a smile on your face
And then do it again
I wish you would

When you’re walking downtown
Do you wish I was there
Do you wish it was me
With the windows clear and the mannequins eyes
Do they all look like mine

You know you could
I wish you would
Come pick me up
Take me out
Fuck me up
Steal my records
Screw all my friends behind my back
With a smile on your face
And then do it again
I wish you would

I wish you’d make up my bed
So I could make up my mind
Try it for sleeping instead
Maybe you’ll rest sometime
I wish I could

14 thoughts on “Musical Monday … Come Pick Me Up

  1. I love that song! Especially the bluesy harmonica parts! I hadn’t heard that New York song until Him Up North played it on his blog last week! Great pic and you know I’m here for you if you need a hug or to talk! x

  2. I’m a “glass-is-half-full-kind-of gal” too, but no sense in staring at a glass that’s full. Might as well fill it up and start drinking a full glass again. Or at least put another half full glass in the other had and be double-fisted to get through it all. My point is… well, I’m sure what my point is because if you’ve got a glass in each hand, you can’t do much else except drink. I’ll drink to that and you should too because a few drinks will definitely raise your spirits in more ways than one. Cheers big ears!

  3. That first sentence is suppose to read “I’m a “glass-is-half-full-kind-of gal” too, but no sense in staring at a glass that’s HALF full. Feel free to edit it. I really need to stop drinking in the middle of the day. ;-)

  4. Love the Blues. Hubby’s new drummer (actually it’s the old drummer that came back) is a drummer, singer, and plays the harp. He’s really good, and I love when he plays. This song is too cool I’m gonna have to ask him if he’s ever heard it. I see that you didn’t get my message for being one of our Spotlight Dancers. You’re in second place on our linky. CONGRATS! HAVE A GREAT DAY! THE WEATHER IS WONDERFUL HERE IN FACT IT’S EVEN A LITTLE TOO WARM!

  5. Oh, we all have glum days. I hope today is a better one for ya! Congrats on being featured this week. I’m running a bit late, but better than never, ey? Have a great week!

Comments make me smile.

