Five songs to live your life by … I think

Memes.

Some are good, some are crap and some are just fantabulous.

Am I right?

No offence meant, but some I’m tagged for make me grumble and think “what the what” while others I get and I’m all “hells yeah!”

Well, this “Five Songs to Live Your Life By” made me exclaim the latter.  I was actually tagged for it by Him Up North way back when … and far, far away … over yonder … in another time and place.  What with one thing and another going on in my life and ma heed right now, I’m only just getting round to it now.  And, being ever so slightly indecisive and maybe a tad contrary, I found it very difficult to narrow it down to just five.  I mean, how do you do that?

*sigh*

Anyway, without further ado and in no particular order, here be my five … I think …

1.  Say  by John Mayer

For someone who’s in communications and frankly never really shuts up, I’m not very good at speaking up for myself.  So, this song is a gentle reminder for me to put it all out there and just say what I need to say instead of bottling it up or throwing a paddy.

“You’d better know that in the end
It’s better to say too much
Then never say what you need to say again”

2.  Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield

When I hear this song, it makes me feel like I can do … well, just about anything.

“Today is where your book begins”

3.  By Your Side by Sade

This song makes me a bit weepy every time I hear it.  It’s such a beautiful song with simple, heartfelt words that really hit home to me I think because this is how I love.  And, want to be loved.  I have to remember to not expect anything less.

“You think I’d leave your side baby
You know me better than that
You think I’d leave you down when your down on your knees
I wouldn’t do that”

4.  These Are Days by 10,000 Maniacs

This is a song that I love and definitely live by in that it makes me want to stop and smell the roses, hear my children’s laughter and appreciate all I have.

“And as you feel it,
You’ll know it’s true
That you are blessed and lucky
It’s true that you
Are touched by something”
That will grow and bloom in you

5.  Material Girl by Madonna

My brothers and their friends used to annoyingly call me the material girl back when I was a scrawny 14-year-old Madonna wannabe.  So, I thought, ye know what … fuck it … I’m putting this song on my list and embracing my inner material girl.  Call me shallow.  I don’t really give a shit.  I like nice things and I’m not ashamed to admit it.  Plus, it’s still a great tune.

“We are living in a material world and I am a material girl!”

There you have it, my five songs to live my life by … I think.

Now, in the spirit of all good memes … because everybody love a good meme and because I’m nosey and would like to see their choices, I’m tagging the following fantabulous bloggers …

Reluctant Housedad

Mum of 4

Cheeky Sweety

And Then All I Thought About Was You

3 Bedroom Bungalow

Rosie Scribble

Luke, I Am Your Father

Goodbye Pert Breasts

… and anyone else who wants to give it a go.

8 thoughts on “Five songs to live your life by … I think

  1. Love how you related all of them. Great choices, and thanks for playing along with us too! I to use your word “fantabulous” hehehe Love it! Hope to see you next week too! Have a great one!

  2. Pingback: 5 Songs To Live Your Life By (*warning: contains heavy doses of nauseating schmaltz) | Chronicles of a Reluctant Housedad

Comments make me smile.

