Mercy, Mercy Me…

Today is Earth Day. A day to celebrate Mother Earth and all she has been through and continues to do so.

Except, I don’t feel much like celebrating… I think in part because of the recent news events and also my own guilt ridden angst. Truth be told, this day only serves to add to the guilt of all the things that I should or could be doing to make this world a better place for my children.

I know, I know… I shouldn’t be quite so hard on myself because I do live by that ole mantra of reduce, reuse, recycle, but I know I could be doing so much more.

We could all be doing so much more.

Where to begin?

*sigh*

So, it might not be more, but I hope to get home from work early enough to drag my boys out with me on a nature walk so we can go hug a tree and maybe feed some squirrels.

Meanwhile, I’ve chosen The Strokes’ cover of Mercy, Mercy Me.. Enjoy and while you”re at it, go out there and do more.

9 thoughts on “Mercy, Mercy Me…

  1. Hugging trees always makes me feel better, until someone gets a splinter in the ear. We’re off to the beach this morning and then a run this evening in support of #BostonStrong. I need Earth Day to shake the sadness I feel. The world is such a scary place, but we all need to do our part to make it better. Be it picking up trash, hugging each other or a tree or two. Mercy, mercy me….Great pick, but I love the Marvin Gaye version. Love Motown! B-town needs some Motown love! <3 :-)

  2. You crack me up with the tree hugging, but you know the nature walk sounds like a good idea. What ever each of us do to contribute to the care of this beautiful world God has given is a personal choice and we should not feel bad because we don’t do what another does. So, you can cut yourself some slack and feel at ease with the things you do do. Thanks for dancing with the 4M crew on Monday’s Music Moves Me!

  3. What a terrific cover great song I bought the Marvin Gaye version when I was young and yes my memory is still good LOL :-)

    Have a fantastical week :-)

  4. I totally agree we all should do more, and me personally this year come hell or highwater I’m going to do my garden again and grow me some fresh veggies. I have my son now to help so the old back won’t scream at me, but I have new ideas for doing it, so wish me luck & I’ll do a Post some day soon. I never heard this version of this song. Great! Thanks for sharing and joining us this fine sunny morning. Have a great day!

  5. The best thing is to get out and be healthy in the outsides. Wish I had more areas for walking and listening to streams etc.

    Thanks for sharing with us!
    Have a blessed week! :)

Comments make me smile.

